The provisional starting grid at Monza

Many drivers were penalized following several changes to the Power Units, particularly in the Renault clan.

Published on 05/09/2015 à 21:51

Pierre Tassel

0 View comments)

The provisional starting grid at Monza

At Spa in Belgium last August, the team McLaren had accumulated 105 penalty places over the entire weekend, after having made a double change on the Power Unit elements on the MP4-30s of Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button. A strategy followed this weekend by Red Bull who proceeded in almost the same way with Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat.

It is therefore logical that the two RB11 drivers accumulate the most penalty places on the grid with 50 penalty places for the Australian (double change of thermal engine, turbo, MGU-H and MGU-K) and 35 for the Russian (double change of thermal engine and turbo, plus that of its gearbox).

At Toro Rosso, Max Verstappen was stripped of 30 places on the grid, including 20 for changes to the thermal engine, turbo and MGU-K of his STR10, plus ten after his team broke a seal on the Power Unit Renault without FIA supervision. The Dutchman will also have to observe a drive-through during the race after his engine cover came off in qualifying.

Carlos Sainz loses 35 places after a double change of thermal engine accompanied by those of the turbo, MGU-H and MGU-K.

Finally on the McLaren side, Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button were penalized 10 and 5 places for a change of thermal engine. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber) lost three places for being in the way Nico Hulkenberg in qualifying.

The provisional starting grid is as follows:

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) ? Kimi Räikkönen (Ferrari)
Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)? Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
Felipe Massa (Williams)? Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
Sergio Pérez (Force India)? Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
Nico Hülkenberg (Force India)? Pastor Maldonado (Lotus)
Felipe Nasr (Sauber)? Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
Will Stevens (Manor)? Roberto Merhi (Manor)
Jenson Button (McLaren)? Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)? Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull)
Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)? Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso)

0 View comments)