Lewis Hamilton nine points from the coronation

The Briton can win his third world champion title today in Austin, Texas, but does not have his destiny completely in his hands.

Published on 25/10/2015 à 11:47

Pierre Tassel

0 View comments)

Lewis Hamilton nine points from the coronation

After securing a second Manufacturers' world title following the Russian Grand Prix in Sochi, Mercedes could celebrate the third Drivers title for Lewis Hamilton this evening at the end of the United States Grand Prix in Austin, Texas.

For what would be his second consecutive crown with the star, several scenarios are available to the Briton. The former pilot McLaren is 66 points ahead of Sebastian Vettel, who will be penalized by ten places on the grid following the use of a fifth engine this season, and 73 on Nico Rosberg. Hamilton must therefore score nine points more than the German of the Team and two more than his teammate to be titled. Any result beyond fifth place would delay the deadline.

A victory would not necessarily ensure the coronation for the Briton this evening, Vettel not having to, in this scenario, do better than third. With a second place, Hamilton can conclude, in which case Vettel must finish no better than sixth, and Rosberg must not win.

A third place can also be enough, but Lewis Hamilton must hope that Vettel only scores the points for seventh place, while Nico Rosberg must not precede him. In the event of a fourth final position for the driver of the No. 06 Mercedes W44 Hybrid, Vettel must not do better than ninth, and Rosberg must not be ahead of him.

Another possibility, a fifth position under the Texan checkered flag could offer the title to the Briton in the event that Vettel does not score more than the point of tenth place. Once again, Nico Rosberg must not get ahead of his teammate.

With a third coronation, Lewis Hamilton would join the list of winners of the F1, the late Ayrton Senna (1988-1990-1991), Nelson Piquet (1981-1983-1987), Niki Lauda (1975-1977-1984), Jackie Stewart (1969-1971-1973) and Jack Brabham (1959-1960- 1966), and would be one length behind the four-time world champions Sebastian Vettel (2010-2013) and Alain Prost (1985-1986-1989-1993).

0 View comments)

Read also


*The space reserved for logged in users. Please connect to be able to respond or post a comment!

0 Comment (s)

To write a comment