NASCAR – The 2016 calendar now known

NASCAR officials have released the schedule for the 2016 Sprint Series season. The selected routes will be present during the 2016-2020 period.

Published on 27/10/2015 à 10:32

Pierre Tassel

0 View comments)

NASCAR – The 2016 calendar now known

If the 2016 version of the calendar NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and Xfinity Series does not involve any major changes, the novelty comes from the agreement reached with the selected circuits (23 in Sprint and 24 in Xfinity), which will be part of the calendar for the 2016-2020 period.

The Sprint Cup Series season, 36 events long, will traditionally begin in Daytona, Florida with the Sprint Unlimited on February 13 as a preamble of the big meeting of the Daytona 500 on February 21. The first road event of the year will be held in Sonoma, California on June 26, while Watkins Glen (New York) will be organized on August 7.

Indianapolis will host NASCAR on July 24 on the famous oval just before the equally legendary Pocono event a week later. The Chase 2016 will begin on September 18 in Chicagoland (Illinois) and conclude once again in Miami-Homestead (Florida) on November 20. Dover (Delaware), Talladega (Alabama) and Phoenix (Arizona) will once again be the decisive tests for elimination during the different rounds of the play-offs.

In Xfinity, the arrival of Pocono (Pennsylvania) should be noted on June 4 while Chicagoland will only host one round in 2016, compared to two between 2011 and 2015 in the series.

2016 Sprint Cup Series Schedule:

Regular season

February 13: Sprint Unlimited? Daytona, Florida
February 18: Can-Am Duel at Daytona? Daytona, Florida
February 21: Daytona 500? Daytona, Florida
February 28: Atlanta, Georgia
March 6: Las Vegas, Nevada
March 13: Phoenix, Arizona
March 20: Fontana, California
April 3: Martinsville, Virginia
April 9: Texas
April 17: Bristol, Tennessee
April 24: Richmond, Virginia
May 1: Talladega, Alabama
May 7: Kansas
May 15: Dover, Delaware
May 21: NASCAR All-Star Race? Charlotte, North Carolina
May 29: Charlotte, North Carolina
June 5: Pocono, Pennsylvania
June 12: Michigan
June 26: Sonoma, California
July 2: Daytona, Florida
July 9: Kentucky
July 17: New Hampshire
July 24: Indianapolis, Indiana
July 31: Pocono, Pennsylvania
August 7: Watkins Glen, New York
August 20: Bristol, Tennessee
August 28: Michigan
September 4: Darlington, South Carolina
September 10: Richmond, Virginia

Chase 2016:

September 18: Chicagoland, IL
September 25: New Hampshire
October 2: Dover, Delaware

October 8: Charlotte, North Carolina
October 16: Kansas
October 23: Talladega, Alabama

October 30: Martinsville, Virginia
November 6: Texas
November 13: Phoenix, Arizona

November 20: Miami-Homestead, Florida

In italics, road races

0 View comments)