DTM-C1: Wehrlein champion, Scheider returns to success

Pascal Wehrlein won the 2015 Drivers' title by finishing eighth in the first race of the weekend, dominated by Timo Scheider.

Published on 17/10/2015 à 14:33

Pierre Tassel

0 View comments)

DTM-C1: Wehrlein champion, Scheider returns to success

Arriving with a comfortable lead in the 2015 championship final at Hockenheim, pascal wehrlein concluded his first attempt at the Drivers' title DTM. The pilot Mercedes went through the pitfalls of a very competitive first race, and which finally smiled on the Audi RS 5 of Timo Scheider.

Maxime Martin (BMW) however had the best start from pole ahead of Scheider, while Mattias Ekström (Audi) missed his start and lost several places. In the peloton, several contacts caused the loss of Adrien Tambay (Audi) hit by Bruno Spengler (BMW). Edoardo Mortara (Audi), another title contender with Pascal Wehrlein (Mercedes) and Ekström, will be forced to return to the pits, victim of a puncture.

While Timo Scheider managed to take the lead of the race from Martin, the safety car finally came into play after yet another contact between Gary Paffett (Mercedes? ART Grand Prix) and Miguel Molina (Audi). At the restart, Scheider will maintain the advantage over Martin, to fly towards a first victory since 2010.

In the fight for the title, Pascal Wehrlein will finish ninth, a sufficient result for the star test driver in F1 to secure the Drivers' title (by becoming the youngest titled driver), after the setbacks of his rivals. Edoardo Mortara, penalized with a drive-through for contact with Timo Glock (BMW) will finally be forced to retire (vibrations), while Mattias Ekström, sent into a spin earlier by Robert Wickens (Mercedes ), will not be able to do better than ninth.

Jamie Green finished second ahead of Maxime Martin, while Paul Di Resta (Mercedes) failed to reach the podium.

>>>>> Video race 1 Hockenheim <<<<

0 View comments)

Read also


*The space reserved for logged in users. Please connect to be able to respond or post a comment!

0 Comment (s)

To write a comment