The European Le Mans Series celebrates its 20th anniversary

In 2024, the Endurance Le Mans Series celebrates its 20th anniversary! A crucial championship to understand how the discipline has regained such appeal today.

Published on 10/04/2024 à 13:00

Geoffroy Barre

0 View comments)

The European Le Mans Series celebrates its 20th anniversary

Photo: DPPI

On May 9, 2004, in Monza (Italy), Johnny Herbert and Jamie Davies became the first winners in LMES (Le Mans Endurance Series). Aboard their Audi R8 flanked by the No. 88, they gave the Audi Sport UK Team Veloqx the first of four victories of the season in as many races. The sporting result was not so surprising, as the R8s were then at the peak of their domination. That year, Audi once again won the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and the ADT Champion Racing team competed in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS). But the main thing was elsewhere. For the first time in a long time, the protagonists of Endurance had access

This article is for subscribers only.

You have 90% left to discover.

Already subscribed?
Log in

  • Unlimited premium items
  • The digital magazine from 20 p.m. every Monday
  • All issues of AUTOhebdo available since 2012

0 View comments)

Read also


*The space reserved for logged in users. Please connect to be able to respond or post a comment!

0 Comment (s)

To write a comment